Eight Portraits. Estonian Composers 1

Eight Portraits. Estonian Composers 1

Book of Estonian contemporary composers

Estonian Music Information Centre 2009
Price: 10.00 €

The book "Eight Portraits. Estonian Composers 1" is introducing eight composers who in the 1990s appeared in Estonian music - Galina Grigorjeva (1962), Tõnis Kaumann (1971), Tõnu Kõrvits (1969), Märt-Matis Lill (1975), Jüri Reinvere (1971), Toivo Tulev (1958), Helena Tulve (1972 ) and Mari Vihmand (1967).

"Eight Portraits" texts, in close collaboration with each composer, are written by Kristina Kõrver, Gerhard Lock, Maria Mölder, Sofi Oksanen, Ia Remmel, Anu Sõõro and Evi Arujärv. The book is compiled and edited by Evi Arujärv.

Each of the eight portraits essentially relies on an axis, created of selected works, which the composer considers to be for some reason important. Each text includes specially for the book carried out interviews, which open practical side of music writing, intellectual and metaphysical matters, as well as composers’ more general views of life.
Allowing the contents of the book to be more understandable for non musicians or the students, each text contains footnotes with explaining references to well-known musicians and other outstanding persons of cultural life.
The written portraits also include lists of works and records as well as short biogaphies of each composer.
Bound between common covers, the eight portraits of Estonian current major composers are providing a concentrated overview of Estonian today's music.
(Evi Arujärv)

Published in 2009
In Estonian
196 pages
Format: 165 x 240 mm
8 photos
Design and layout by Mihkel Ronk
Printed by Uniprint
Publisher: Estonian Music Infomation Centre
ISBN 978-9985-9623-4-3