Music News

Takahiro Akiba plays Tubin in Armenia

On October 26, Japanese pianist Takahiro Akiba holds a solo recital in Yerevan, the capital of Armenia. Additionally to the works by Armenian composers he gives the Armenian premiere of Eduard Tubin's work Ballade on a theme of Mart Saar. The concert takes place in concert hall of Yerevan Komitas State Conservatory on October 26 at 4 pm.

Concert program:
J. S. Bach – Largo from trio sonata No 5 for organ (arrangement by S. Feinberg)
L. van Beethoven – Sonata No 31, in A Flat Major, op. 110
E. Tubin – Ballade on a theme of Mart Saar, ETW40 (1945)
Komitas: Гарун а (arr. by R. Andriasyan), Крунк (arr. by G. Saradshyan)
E. Mirosyan – Poem (1971)
А. Аrutyunyan – The Evening in Ararat Valley (Вечер в Араратской долине) (1963)
L. Saryan – Three Postludes (1990)

Takahiro Akiba (b. 1984 in Yokohama) is a talented young pianist who has a special interest in Estonian music. In 2003–2007, he studied at the Faculty of Music of the Tokyo University of the Arts (TUA / the former name: Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music) with Hideto Nishikawa. He graduated from the university with top honors and, as one of the best four graduates, received the Ataka Award. In 2007–2009, Akiba continued his studies in postgraduate course of TUA with Professor Kenji Watanabe. In 2009–2011, Akiba furthered his studies at the Moscow State Conservatory with Prof. Mikhail Olenev and Prof. Victor Merzhanov. Akiba has won several prizes, given solo recitals and performed with orchestras in Japan.

Takahiro Akiba has a special relation to Estonian music. He is a member of the Estonia Japan Association since 2002 and International Eduard Tubin Society since 2006. From 2003 on, he has played and studied Estonian piano music in Japan. In 2004, he launched a concert series Estonian Music Project to promote Estonian piano music in Japan. In the framework of the concert series the works of Eduard Tubin, Tõnu Kõrvits, Urmas Sisask, Eduard Oja, Jaan Koha, Heino Eller, Arvo Pärt, Lepo Sumera, Jüri Reinvere and other Estonian composers have been introduced to Japanese audience. Akiba has also published articles about Estonian music, including „Urmas Sisask's Starry Sky Cycle“ in Japanese magazine Musica Nova in 2008.