Music News

Ester Mägi, Ain Anger and Erkki-Sven Tüür awarded the Cultural Prize of the Republic of Estonia

By the decision of Estonian Government, the Cultural Prize of the Republic of Estonia ascribed to composer Ester Mägi, documentary director Toivo-Peep Puks and painter Enn Põldroos for a long-time activity and outstanding creative achievements.

The persistent features of Ester Mägi’s (b. 1922) work are fine sense of form, transparent texture and subtle or objective mode of expression. Mostly her works are based on brief thematic cores borrowed from or characteristic to Estonian folk melodies. Chamber music and choral works form the bigger half of Mägi’s oeuvre, but also the Symphony, one of her few orchestral opuses, stands out as a remarkable work in Estonian music.

The cultural prizes for the lifework in amount of 64 000€ will be given at the festive ceremony held on 24th of February, the anniversary of the Republic of Estonia, in the Endla Theatre in Pärnu.

Ester Mägi

Ain Anger
Photo: Roland Unger

Erkki-Sven Tüür
Photo: Taavi Kull

Beside lifework prizes, Cultural Prize of the Republic of Estonia for outstanding artistic achievements (9600€) in 2014 was awarded to opera singer Ain Anger for international activity and high level opera roles at the Estonian National Opera, composer Erkki-Sven Tüür for Clarinet concerto Peregrinus ecstaticus (2012) and orchestral work De Profundis (2013), glass artist Ivo Lill, textile artist Anu Raud and translator Mati Sirkel.