Music News

Ensemble U: performs a new program with two premieres

On January 7 at 7 pm, fourth concert of the series of Ensemble U: and Estonian Public Broadcasting will take place in 1st studio of Estonian Radio. Concert entitled as „Estonia“ presents two premieres – Andrus Kallastu’s Tropus De profundis (2013) and Märt-Matis Lill’s Autumn Road (2013). Program includes also Tatjana Kozlova-Johannes’s Ice Curves (2012), Udo Kasemets’s EMIT: EnergyMassInteracT (2006) and Jaan Koha’s Rondo aleatorica (1967). Concert will be broadcast live on Klassikaraadio.

The members of new music ensemble U: are Tarmo Johannes (flute), Helena Tuuling (clarinet), Merje Roomere (violin), Levi-Danel Mägila (cello), Vambola Krigul (percussion) and Taavi Kerikmäe (piano). This group is one of the most active new music ensembles in Estonia, it is especially valued for their courageous ideas, unified sound and flexible joint performance. In 2013, ensemble U: celebrated its 10th anniversary.