Music News

Ensemble Resonabilis in Dublin with Estonian music

On February 16 at 7 pm, evening of Estonian and Irish contemporary music and poetry will take place at Irish Writers' Centre (19 Parnell Square, Dublin). Ensemble Resonabilis - Iris Oja (voice), Kristi Mühling (kannel), Tarmo Johannes (flute) and Aare Tammesalu (cello) - will give a concert with a following program:

Jane O'Leary “Only gestures remain...” (2009) I movement. Setting for cello and kannel
Galina Grigorjeva “Lullaby” (2012, première) for voice, flute, kannel and cello (text: Marina Tsvetaeva)
Mirjam Tally “Structures” for solo kannel (1996)
Helena Tulve “North Wind, South Wind” (2010) for voice, flute, kannel and cello (text: Mevlana Jalalludin Rumi, Song of songs)
Andrus Kallastu “Elegiac trope” (2010) for voice, flute, kannel and cello
John Buckley “Airflow” for solo flute (1998)
Tatjana Kozlova “Tightrope walker” (2009) for voice, flute, kannel and cello

Poems by contemporary Estonian poets like Doris Kareva, Kauksi Ülle, Ülar Ploom and Triin Soomets in English translation will be read by Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill and Miriam McIlfatrick-Ksenofontov.

Ensemble Resonabilis (resonabilis, Latin for ringing, sounding) is one of the most active and peculiar contemporary music ensembles in Estonia. It consists of a unique combination of instruments – voice, flute, cello and kannel. The kannel is a traditional Estonian plucked instrument with a very distinctive sound and an extremely wide range of playing capabilities.
Resonabilis was founded in 2002, and since then the ensemble has worked closely with composers to extend its repertoire. Almost all the leading contemporary Estonian composers have written original music for Resonabilis. The ensemble has performed at most of the contemporary music festivals in Estonia, as well as concerts in Finland, Latvia, Russia, Austria, Iran, Sweden and the United Kingdom. Since 2006 Resonabilis has run its own concert series, ReVisioon, which connects music and the visual arts. Resonabilis has also performed alongside the internationally renowned poets Philip Gross (UK) and Eva Runefelt (Sweden).