Music News

Annual Awards of the Estonian Music Council and the Cultural Endowment of Estonia

On October 1, International Music Day, the laureates of music awards of the year 2017 were announced in Estonia Concert Hall with the performance of Estonian Dream Big Band and Estonian National Male Choir. The ceremony was directed by Eva Koldits, artistic director was Siim Aimla, and the host was Kaie Mihkelson.

Laureates of Estonian Music Council Music Prizes:
Composition Prize: Jüri Reinvere
Interpretation Prize: Paavo Järvi
Prize for significant and outstanding activities in music sphere: Evi Arujärv

Laureates of the Awards of the Endowment for Music of the Cultural Endowment of Estonia:
Tõnu Naissoo – rich years of jazz: 50 years of fruitful creative activity as a composer and jazz pianist, as a keeper of the consistency of traditions
Ensemble Triskele – carriyng on and giving the meaning to traditions, bringing Estonian sacred folk tunes to the audience
Triin Ruubel – shining soloist and concertmaster, high-level work in orchestras and ensembles
Indrek Vau – remarkable soloist, restless performer of Estonian music
Johanna Vahermägi – world-class concert activity as a viola player in different chamber ensembles and projects
Mart Humal – invaluable contribution to the Estonian musicology
Tanel Klesment – the golden recording engineer of Estonian music and co-operation partner of Estonian musicians
Theodor Sink – brilliant season both as a soloist and orchestra member
Aare Tool – bright publicism and powerful entering into the world of science