Music News

Annual Awards of the Estonian Music Council and the Cultural Endowment of Estonia

On October 1, International Music Day, the laureates of music awards of the year 2016 were announced. Ceremony took place in Kumu Art Museum with the concert of Tallinn Chamber Orchestra under the baton of Risto Joost. The stage director of the evening was Veiko Tubin, the host was Priit Pius.

Laureates of Estonian Music Council Music Prizes:
Composition Prize: Ülo Krigul
Interpretation Prize: Vello Pähn
Prize for significant and outstanding activities in music sphere: Tiina Mattisen

Laureates of the Awards of the Endowment for Music of the Cultural Endowment of Estonia:
Ain Agan – original and outstanding creative activity
Ensemble U: – pithful journeys on contemporary music scene
Estonian Music Information Centre – two decades of precise and diverse distributing and collecting of music information
Imbi Tarum – excellent creatyive activity both in Estonia and abroad
Jüri Kruus – passionate contribution in preserving Estonian vocal art
Kalle Randalu – brilliant and outstanding creative activity
Maria Kõrvits – successful creative activity with the high achievement like the first prize in the youth category  at the Rostrum of Composers held in Wroclaw in 2016
Priit Kuusk – continuous collecting of chronicle of Estonian music life
Risto Joost– performances of Estonian music at home and abroad