Music News

Annual Awards of the Estonian Music Council and the Cultural Endowment of Estonia

On October 1, International Music Day, the laureates of music awards of the year 2014 were announced. Ceremony took place in Tallinn, at Shkoda Ice Arena where Tallinn Chamber Orchestra under the direction of Risto Joost performed. The stage director of the evening was Veiko Tubin, video artist was Elmer Värk.

Laureates of Estonian Music Council Music Prizes:

Composition Prize: Rein Rannap
Interpretation Prize: Jüri Alperten
Prize for significant and outstanding activities in music sphere: Vardo Rumessen

Laureates of the Endowment for Music of the Cultural Endowment of Estonia:

Age Juurikas – for active and idiosyncratic soloist and ensemble partner
Metsatöll – for continuos and original encouraging of rock music
Yxus Ensemble – for enriching the cultural space with new music concerts
Kadri Voorand – bright and strong jazz musician
Kristjan Randalu – for high-level concerts both in Estonia and abroad
Matti Reimann – for the longtime and dedicated work of valuing the chamber music
Taavi Kerikmäe – as versatile and innovative musician Tõnu Kõrvits – for a bright and fruitful creative year
Pille Lill – for strenuous work of supporting Estonian musicians.