YXUS Ensemble

YXUS Ensemble was established in early 2013 as a successor of NYYD Ensemble – the principal ensemble for contemporary music in Estonia in 1993–2012. The YXUS Ensemble is mostly oriented to contemporary chamber music, bringing world's contemporary music to Estonian audience and introducing Estonian music to the listeners abroad.
The ensemble has varying instrumentation, including a string quartet, a wind quintet, piano(s) and percussion, and mostly playing without a conductor.
Instead of single concerts, the ensemble organizes concert series to focus thoroughly on selected topics. It also includes one performer centered projects where members of YXUS are free to realize their ideas without stylistic boundaries of repertoire.

The two debut concerts of the ensemble were held on 2. March 2013 in Vanemuine concert hall in Tartu and on 3. March in Estonia Concert Hall with Harry Traksmann (violin), Juta Õunapuu (violin), Torsten Tiebout (viola), Leho Karin (cello), Mihkel Peäske (flute), Toomas Vavilov (clarinet) and Jana Peäske (piano), the music was illustrated with visuals by video artist Emer Värk. The concert program was put together of train-inspired works, including Different Trains by Steve Reich, Gare de l’Est by Toivo Tulev, Railway to London by Rauno Remme and Berlin Hauptbahnhof by Ardo Ran Varres. The Estonian premiere was given to Erkki-Sven Tüür’s second string quartet Lost Prayers.

© EMIC 2013

The texts on the EMIC's homepage are protected by the copyright law. They can be used for non-commercial purposes referring to the author (when specified) and source (Estonian Music Information Centre).