Eduard Oja

26.02.1988, Toronto

With an increasing number of performances around the world, the music of Riho Esko Maimets has been recognized as "commanding absolute attention without having to scream and shout for it" (I Care if you Listen). Riho recently completed a Diploma in Composition at the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia under the instruction of David Ludwig and Richard Danielpour. He now resides in Tallinn, Estonia, where he continues to quietly delve into his craft. Maimets has commissions regularly in Estonia and abroad. He writes mainly choir and chamber music as well as orchestral works.

His past teachers include Helena Tulve and René Eespere (Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre) and Christos Hatzis (University of Toronto). In addition to participating in numerous summer academies and festivals around the world including the Fontainebleau American Conservatory (France), the Lake Champlain Music Festival (US), and the Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study, Riho has also been the recipient of numerous awards including the Karen Kieser Prize in Canadian Music, the highSCORE prize (Italy), first prize at the 2012 Villiers Quartet Competition (UK), and the Theodore Presser Music Award (US). Estonian Choral Association gave Maimets the award of the Choral Composer of the Year 2019.

Look also: SoundCloud

© EMIC 2011
Updated in January 2020

The texts on the EMIC's homepage are protected by the copyright law. They can be used for non-commercial purposes referring to the author (when specified) and source (Estonian Music Information Centre).